Winter-Spring 2014

Salon Poezji
2013 Vol. 5 No. 3 / Poetry

Salon Poezji

New York Times columnist David Orr once noted that while it’s impossible to know which country has the best writers, let alone the best poets… if cash money were on the line, you’d find few critics willing to bet against Poland. Now, the world’s best celebrate Polish American poets.

Fall 2013 Bulletin Board
2013 Vol. 5 No. 3 / Bulletin Board

Fall 2013 Bulletin Board

Stefan Norblin’s life and art continue to fascinate; Ida dazzles, as does Life Feels Good. Wojtek the Soldier Bear gets his own Scottish tartan; Beth Holmgren’s book on Helena Modjeska is awarded; and Magda Romanska seems to be everywhere. Plus Katy Carr explores war and freedom through film and music workshops.

Green Polish Capital Hosting What Could Still Be a Successful UN Climate Conference
2013 Vol. 5 No. 3 / Commentary

Green Polish Capital Hosting What Could Still Be a Successful UN Climate Conference

Warsaw, a “green capital”? Indeed, says, Adam Sulkowski, reporting in from the 2013 COP19 Climate Summit in Poland’s vibrant, thriving and – yes, ever greener – capital.

Welcome to CR’s Summer 2013 issue!
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Commentary

Welcome to CR’s Summer 2013 issue!

Poland is wherever Polish people are… India, the Canadian Rockies, or the Wianki festival in Washington DC.

Second Homeland: Polish Refugees in India
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Books

Second Homeland: Polish Refugees in India

Anuradaha Bhattacharjee turned a rejected newspaper story into a PhD thesis and a book. And what a story: orphaned children, a loving maharaja, an inspiring Gandhi, and the kindness of strangers.

Wanda Dynowska / Umadevi: A Polish Guide to Indian Culture
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Features

Wanda Dynowska / Umadevi: A Polish Guide to Indian Culture

Already surprised by a land of unimagined wonders, they now beheld a serene, sari-clad woman who spoke Polish and cared deeply about both her countries.

The Cabaret Star and the Orphans: From Warsaw to India
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Features

The Cabaret Star and the Orphans: From Warsaw to India

Lithe, blonde, willowy and a free spirit, prewar cabaret star Hanka Ordonowna was to become a wartime rescuer of children and a sensitive chronicler of their harrowing story.

Zamość, citta ideale
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Travel

Zamość, citta ideale

When was the last time you visited a citta ideale? No, not in Italy. Zamość, in Poland. Designed by Bernardo Morando, according to the vision of Jan Zamoyski, Chancellor of Poland, a nobleman and a magnate of great wealth.

A Farewell to Poland in the Rockies
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Commentary

A Farewell to Poland in the Rockies

PitR, as it is affectionately called, leaves many great memories and a far flung network. A toast to Tony Muszynski, who created it: Sto lat!

The Taste of Ashes: The Afterlife of Totalitarianism in Eastern Europe
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Books

The Taste of Ashes: The Afterlife of Totalitarianism in Eastern Europe

“Can we make the past okay?” Michal Kasprzak weighs in on Marci Shore’s journey into the world of no innocent choices.

Bogusław Schaeffer: An Anthology
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Books

Bogusław Schaeffer: An Anthology

A great artist in the tradition of Schulz, Wyspiański and Witkiewicz, Bogusław Schaeffer and his work are ubiquitous in Poland. And should be better known beyond. Magda Romanska is helping do that with her translation of three of his works, reviewed here by Alena Aniskiewicz.

Polska Dotty
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Books

Polska Dotty

Here’s a writer you’ll immediately want to invite for dinner. Along with his charming father. And there, over great Polish food, you can tell him what you like, and don’t like, about his book.

Vera Gran: The Accused
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Books

Vera Gran: The Accused

When Isaac Bashevis Singer said fate “is a trap we set for ourselves,” surely he wasn’t thinking of the Warsaw Ghetto. Two reviewers take issue with Agata Tuszynska’s biography of Vera Gran.

From a Polish Country House Kitchen
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Books

From a Polish Country House Kitchen

Attention all foodies: Polish food is fresh, lively and delicious. Reviewer Pierre Gratton dismisses stale opinions. A French conspiracy, he suspects, ably put down by Anne Applebaum and Danielle Crittenden.

Polish Classic Desserts
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Books

Polish Classic Desserts

Justine Jablonska tests and tastes the rich dessert fare of Poland presented in Polish Classic Desserts and declares them: Heaven! She has a few quibbles, though, with some editorial content.

Summer 2013 Bulletin Board
2013 Vol. 5 No. 2 / Bulletin Board

Summer 2013 Bulletin Board

Magda Romanska’s new play, Opheliamachine, in LA; Piotr Piwowarczyk’s film, Santa Rosa, in Chicago; Basia and Leonard Myszynski’s Modjeski film in the works; and historian Timothy Snyder everywhere.